Skip to main content

Public Humanities Award


 (From left: Kelly Wisecup (Kaplan Interim Director), Dino Robinson (2023 Public Humanities Award recipient), Tom Burke (Kaplan Associate Director), and Ruth Curry (Center for Civic Engagement).

Call for nominations

2024 Kaplan Institute Public Humanities Award

About the Award

The Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities is pleased to invite nominations for our second annual Public Humanities Award. This award is intended to recognize an individual whose humanistic work has had a significant, positive, and lasting impact beyond the university. We consider the Public Humanities to encompass any humanistic work that substantively engages with communities beyond the academy, including but not limited to activism, digital projects, curation, and community-engaged research, pedagogy, and partnerships. Preference will be given to individuals whose work has had some connection to the Northwestern community or those whose work has had a particular impact in Evanston or the greater Chicago area.

The inaugural Kaplan Public Humanities Award was presented in May 2023 to Morris (Dino) Robinson, Jr. in recognition for his many years of substantial contributions to the humanities through the Shorefront Legacy Center and at Northwestern University, and particularly for his thoughtful, ethical approach to community-engaged work.

This year’s recipient will receive a $5,000 cash award and will be recognized at the Kaplan Public Humanities Symposium on May 10, 2024.

Nomination Process

Nominations will be accepted through April 1, 2024. Self nominations are welcome. Members of the Northwestern community are particularly encouraged to nominate collaborators and community partners from outside the university.

Please use the following form to submit your nomination: 


Please contact Dr. Trish Bredar, Postdoctoral Fellow in Public Humanities, at